SDFI and Petoro annual report 2019
Download report     |

Board of directors of Petoro

Board of directors of Petoro. Photo: Elisabeth Tønnesen
Standing from left: Trude J. H. Fjeldstad, Ragnar Sandvik, Anne-Cathrine Nilsen, Per A. Schøyen and Brian Bjordal. Sitting: Hugo Sandal og Gunn Wærsted. (Photo: Elisabeth Tønnessen)

Gunn Wærsted


Year of election: 2014
Other directorships: Chair Telenor; director Nationwide Building Society, director Fidelity Int, director Saferoad
Education: MBA, BI Norwegian Business School.
Career: Executive vice president in DnB responsible for capital management and life insurance; CEO, in addition to being chief executive in Vital Forsikring ASA and member of corporate executive management, 1999-2002; CEO, SpareBank 1 Gruppen AS, and head, SpareBank 1 Alliance, 2002-2007. Global head of wealth management, president of Nordea Bank Norge and member of the corporate executive management of Nordea, 2007-2016.

Brian Bjordal

Deputy chair

Year of election: 2016
Occupation: Self-employed
Other directorships: Deputy chair Helse Fonna health trust, chair FKH Stadion A/S 
Education: Civil engineer, BSc, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh
Career: 1977-1979: Stoltz Røthing (construction); 1979-1984: Taugbøl & Øverland; 1984-2001: Statoil ASA, Senior Engineer pipelines & structures; head of Pipeline & Platform Inspection, asset owner representative Europipe development, head of early-phase studies Europipe II, Åsgard Transport, Ekofisk by-pass, Franpipe, director of Process plant Kårstø, director Troll / Sleipner area (Development and Production Norway); 2001-2015: Gassco AS, President and CEO.

Per Arvid Schøyen


Year of election: 2007
Occupation: Consultant 
Education: Law degree, various management programmes
Career: Partner, Kluge, 2005-2014. With Esso/ExxonMobil 1977-2004, head of corporate affairs from 1989, other positions in Norway and abroad. Also judge and assistant police attorney as well as scientific assistant, University of Oslo. 

Hugo Sandal


Year of election: 2017
Occupation: Self-employed.
Education: Civil engineer from NTH (now NTNU) and Degree of Engineer from Stanford University.
Career: Various positions in Saga Petroleum during the period 1976 -1987. Consultant in Railo International from 1987-1989. Chief executive in Sabico AS 1989-1991, primary activities aquaculture and biotechnology. Worked for Deminex, later DEA from 1991, chief executive since 1996 until reaching retirement age in 2016. Director Saga Petroleum 1983-1985. Chair OLF, (now NOROG), 1999-2003. Member of NHO’s executive committee 2000-2004.

Trude J. H. Fjeldstad


Year of election: 2015
Occupation: VP Portfolio Management New Business/ Managing director Statkraft Tofte AS 
Education: Economics degree, University of Oslo, financial analyst and MBA in corporate finance, Norwegian School of Economics.
Career: Previously chief executive in Statkraft Treasury Centre SA; secretary to the board, Statkraft; senior gas manager, Statkraft; chief executive, Paine de l’Ain Power SAS and portfolio manager for gas in Norsk Hydro ASA. 

Anne-Cathrine Nilsen

Director (elected by the employees)

Year of election: 2018
Occupation: Team leader business analytics and performance management, Petoro AS
Education: MSc in Business from the Business School at the University College of Bodø (now Nord University), 2-year specialisation/cand.merc. from NHH and cand.mag. (roughly equivalent to a bachelor’s degree) from the University of Tromsø. 
Career: Broad experience from the oil and gas industry, both upstream and downstream from Petoro, Total and Equinor. Previously researcher for Fiskeriforskning AS and trainee at Credit Suisse.  

Ragnar Sandvik  

Director (elected by the employees)

Year of election: 2018
Occupation: Senior adviser, Strategic analysis, Petoro AS.
Education:  MSc in Business Economics with specialisation in finance from NHH
Career: Broad experience as senior adviser for Strategy, Commercial and Economics in Petoro, as well as consultant in Accenture for change management, process improvement and system implementation.

  Download print version​​