Petoro - a driving force on the Norwegian continental shelf

SDFI and Petoro annual report 2016
Styret i Petoro. Foto: Kjetil Alsvik

Board of directors of Petoro AS

From left: Heidi I Nes, Per-Olaf Hustad, Gunn Wærsted, Brian Bjordal, Trude J H Fjeldstad, Per A Schøyen and Ove Skretting. (Photo: Kjetil Alsvik)
Download print version​​


Gunn Wærsted

Year of election:
Other directorships: Chair of Telenor
Education: MBA, BI Norwegian Business School.
Career: Executive vice president in DnB responsible for capital management and life insurance; CEO, Vital Forsikring ASA and member of corporate executive management, 1999-2002; CEO, SpareBank 1 Gruppen AS, and head, SpareBank 1 Alliance, 2002-2007. Global head of wealth management, president of Nordea Bank Norge and member of the corporate executive management of Nordea, 2007-2016.

Brian Bjordal

Deputy chair
Year of election:
Occupation: Self-employed
Other directorships: Deputy chair Fonna Health Trust; member of the Government-appointed Security Council
Education: Civil engineer, BSc, Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh
Career: 1977-1979: Stoltz Røthing (construction); 1979-1984: Taugbøl & Øverland; 1984-2001: Statoil ASA, Senior Engineer pipelines & structures; head of Pipeline & Platform Inspection, asset owner representative Europipe development, head of early-phase studies Europipe II, Åsgard Transport, Ekofisk by-pass, Franpipe, director of Process plant Kårstø, director Troll / Sleipner area (Development and Production Norway); 2001-2015: Gassco AS, President and CEO.


Year of election:
Occupation: Consultant
Education: Law degree, various management programmes
Career: Partner, Kluge, 2005-2014. With Esso/ExxonMobil 1977-2004, head of corporate affairs from 1989, other positions in Norway and abroad. Also associate judge and assistant police attorney as well as scientific assistant, University of Oslo. 

Per-Olaf Hustad

Year of election:
Occupation: Self-employed.
Other directorships: Chair of NOBU Group AS
Education: MSc petroleum technology, Norwegian Institute of Technology (now Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
Career: Statoil 1976-1980, then more than 30 years with Shell - including executive positions in operating companies and major projects. Head of exploration and production for Shell in Norway until 2012. 

Trude J H Fjeldstad

Year of election:
Occupation: Chief executive, Statkraft Treasury Centre, Brussels.
Education: Economics degree, University of Oslo, financial analyst and MBA in corporate finance, Norwegian School of Economics.
Career: Previously secretary to the board, Statkraft; senior gas manager, Statkraft; chief executive, Plaine de l'Ain Power SAS and portfolio manager for gas in Norsk Hydro ASA. 

Heidi Iren Nes

Director (elected by the employees)
Year of election:
Occupation: Senior consultant, Marketing and sales, Petoro AS
Education: MSc in business economics, Norwegian School of Economics, Bergen.
Career: Controller in the Finance Department in Petoro AS and Subsea 7 Norway

Ove Skretting

Director (elected by the employees)
Year of election:
Occupation: Senior adviser; Licence follow-up, Petoro AS.
Education: Economics degree.
Career: Experience as special adviser in Petoro within Marketing and sales, adviser in ExxonMobil within gas marketing, CEO of Terotech A/S, procurement manager in Norwegian Contractors, Transocean and Mobil Exploration Norway.